Outlander Not Your Usual Emmys for Everything


Last evening, some TW friends were asking me to do another posting.  I said, “I need inspiration!” and promptly came up with creating new categories for EmmysforOutlander!   I will give credit for the idea to whomever came up with it, but I am writing this all alone!

Sign an autographed picture, write the blog, sign a picture, write the blog.  Hand cramps are coming and I'm  all alone!

Sign an autographed picture, write the blog, sign a picture, write the blog. Hand cramps are coming and I’m all alone!

I have been reviewing many of the memorable scenes in Season One, (because that is all I have to look at right now, thank you very much, Starz)!   Nevertheless, besides the more obvious nominations (Sam, Cait, Tobias, Ron D. Moore, Writers, Directors, Costume Design, Music, Sets, Cinemetography, etc.)  There are a few notable things that the Emmys often overlook.

 

Emmy for Coolest Car Ever goes to Fraaaank Randall.

This car is obviously a chick magnet and the ONLY reason I would hesitate to pick Jamie over Fraaaaank.   Obviously, Claire was young and gullible when she fell for Frank.  Perhaps even a little shallow….

You know, Fraaaank, the only reason I agreed to come with you on this boring history trip, was your car.

You know, Fraaaank, the only reason I agreed to come with you on this boring history trip, was your car.

I don't know where Claire is, but thank God she left the car and the keys!  I couldn't live without them!

I don’t know where Claire is, but thank God she left the car and the keys! I couldn’t live without them!

Emmy for Best Jamie Dismount (from a horse) Without Exposing His “Wowwhatawillie”  goes to Sam Heughan. (Mentioned dishonorably by @BevH111)

th02M150P0

Good One…Optimum thigh without XXX rating.

Emmy for The Most Ridiculous Question and Answer Ever  goes to Herself and the OL Writers.  When Jamie says to Claire, “I could throw you over my shoulder.  Now, you don’t want me to do that, do ya?”

th7I38VBLY

Did he just say he’d throw me over his shoulder? Oh my…..

And she says. “No!”    How many of us said….

thPBOPJM6Q

Emmy for Scrawniest Cat goes to the Cat eating wedding feast leftovers on the table. (Mentioned dishonorably by @BevH111)

thS1ZJLJQQ

I was unable to find a picture of the cat. I think he choked on a fish bone.  Accepting posthumously for Scrawny Cat is his best friend who ate all the food before Scrawny could get anything but bones. 

thZE8K2N8N

My last words to Scrawny Cat were. “It’s too bad I never learned the Heimlich Maneuver.”

The Emmy for Most Unusual Legs was shared by Colum MacKenzie closely followed by Peg Leg Ian.

thDY2J5EAL

Ye do the Hokey-Pokey and ye turn yourself around. That’s what it’s all about! Everybody dance!

 

thTEXMGUGU

Did anyone find it strange that the British took Ian’s wooden leg and made him hop home? But they arrested Jamie and Colin?

Emmy for the Most Goosebumps on a Pair of Bewbs goes to Leghair.

Later in the book,  Jamie talks about getting a cockstand every time he passes a poultry shop. Could this be the cause?

Later in the book, Jamie talks about getting a cockstand every time he passes a poultry shop. Could this be the cause?

Emmy for Most Sexual Activity on One TV Show Without Being Gratuitous goes to Ron D. Moore. (If he says it isn’t gratuitous, then it isn’t.)

” I must remember to mention that we are not being gratuitous every time someone asks about all of the OL sex and assaults. I don’t want to be cheesy!”

 

Emmy for the Best Rescue of a Hero goes to the Heiland Coos. (Mentioned dishonorably by @BevH111)

thJ51Y13NZ

thSH541W3L

“Done in by Cows? And I was worried that hanging Jamie was an ignoble death! I think I’m covered in cow poo.”

Emmy for the Best Bathing Suit Design goes to Mill Pond Jamie.

They almost made me wear he Grandpa pants like in the book, but I convinced Ron that this wasn't gratuitous.

They almost made me wear the Grandpa pants like in the book, but I convinced Ron that this wasn’t gratuitous.

Emmy for the Most Bodice Ripping That Wasn’t Gratuitous goes to Claire Fraser and Jenny Fraser

image image image

Emmy for Best Dancing Under Duress goes to Murtaugh. (Mentioned dishonorably by @BevH111)

2015-05-09-outlander10

I won’t dance for any amount of money! All right, I’ll take half of that apple.

2015-05-09-outlander11

I know I ate the apple, but do I really have to?

Emmy for the Show Most in Need of Sub-Titles goes to Outlander

You don't want to look like a multed cunnel aka melted candle at your wedding?

You don’t want to look like a multed cunnel aka melted candle at your wedding?

Emmy for the Best Standing Stones goe to the Craig na Dune Standing Stones

thVFFIUOH9

Do we look fake?  Is this our good side? Ron said to just stand very still and buzz. So we are.

While I am sure Outlander will garner many awards for the key performances, I wanted to recognize “the little people” on behalf of Sam.

image

22 thoughts on “Outlander Not Your Usual Emmys for Everything

    1. Snark spelled backwards is Norma D! LOL. Welcome to CoH! There is much to learn and a ride in the snark mobile is a bonus. I am Chief and Only High Priestess, so I am available to Accolytes when needed. Fondly, Norma D or KRANS

      Like

      1. Btw, I shared the CoH on my latest blog post. 🙂 Thought you might like that. If not, let me know. (I am typing this in a Scottish accent.)

        Like

      2. Tis a wee bit of kindness yer showin’ me! Thank you, truly! MARK ME! Of course, I don’t mind! I’ll visit your blog too. Fondly, Norma D

        Like

  1. Norma awesome and on point as always!! Gotta give honorable mention for showing mega thigh and not exposing WOWWHATAWILLIE to Jamie repelling down the wall at Ft. William to rescue Claire!! Gorgeous thigh reveal!! Tx For CoH and your amazing blogs my dear!!❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Norma on point and awesome as always!! Gotta give runner up to Jamie repelling down the wall at Ft. William for showing A LOT of thigh without exposing WOWWHATAWILLIE!! Tx for your CoHand blogs❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I never knew my friend Bev H could dishonorably mention so many ideas!

    I would have included the various rats, and yes, Tobias’ version of standing stones. Not sure which gave me more nightmares.

    As always, great job Norma D!

    Like

  4. I tell you, we were asked as fans to “campaign” for our most beloved Outlander for their consideration to the Emmys voters whoever they may be. Now this blog post should ace that campaign. Great job Norma dear.

    Like

Leave a comment