The Adventures of #NORMASFANFOLLOW in South America Part V

As we drove away from Ushuaia, there were several beaver couples waving goodbye!  We returned to our ship where our next stop was Puerto Montt, Chile.  I can honestly say that I have never seen such beauty in my life as I saw in Puerto  Montt. From every vantage point we could see the Osorno Volcano.

Volcanoes Osorno (L) and Cabulco (R)

Volcanoes Osorno (L) and Cabulco (R)

First we traveled on a pontoon on Lake Llanquihue which was breathtaking. 

image image

The weather was cool but sunny and the colors were magnificent.  As we toured the huge lake, we were introduced majestically to the Osorno Volcano and its partner Cabulco Volcano, which is the one that erupted on April 22.

This is how Cabulco looked when we were visiting.

th

Cabulco Volcano

Three weeks later, this is what Cabulco looked like.  The last eruption was in 1961.

th

th chile-calbuco-volcano-erupts-again-16207  th

Now the last volcano I saw was Vesuvius overlooking Pompeii (yes I am that old), but I never saw this guy running around half naked!

thZBQ2V0U1

th9BFKY99G

FEET DON’T FAIL ME NOW!

th

Nevertheless, Norma D is a survivor.  They saved me from the lava (it was great for my complexion) and look at me now. 

image

I think its time for another Vesuvius Volcanic Ash facial. My skin’s looking a little rough!

image

As we approached the shore I saw architecture that was distinctly Bavarian.  I was informed of a large German population in the area.

image image

Could the old rumors be true?  That Hitler was alive, and well, and living in South America?  I found some interesting pictures at the library.

thFOUNC2AA

Very Interesting. The papers are in order!

thQJR82FKN

Adolpha Hitter, 1947.  She was Very popular but never married!

When we disembarked on the other side of the lake, we made a rugged climb to Petrohue Falls, which has decreased in size due to a five year drought in the area. 

image image image image image

image

Wait! What’s that in the background? Mt. Osorno! I feel like it’s following me!

After Petrohue Falls, we went to a Chilean farm for a typical meal of local foods:   Salmon, Creamy Mashed Potatoes, mixed veggies, salad, and dessert (Bavarian).  We also sampled a very strong drink called Pisco.

n_pisco

After  I had several drinks, I made a new friend!

image

Al Paca the Llama! Likes to pose for tourists! I really thought I was having Pisco hallucinations.

image

Just then one of the farmhands approached to take Al back to the stables.     

thAFYPWG25

I’ll tale the Llama, but I’d rather ride you,Llassie!

Hubs and I sat on a swing and looked out over the farm!   Whats that in the background?  Mt. Osorno! 

image

Mt. Osorno trying to camouflage itself behind a cloud!

We boarded our ship and two days later, arrived in Santiago.   Our waiter from the dining room came by to see if I was satisfied.  (Slipped me his phone number and personal Twitter, Instagram and Facebook addresses.) 

IMG_0209

We had quite a long wait in Santiago before our plane, so we stopped at a local restaurant.  The Chef (Julia Child from the bus) told me their specialty was Argentinian beaver. 

image image image

Imported Argentinian Beaver

Imported Argentinian Beaver

Now is the time for NormasFanFollow Adventure in South America to end.   I can’t tell you how nice it has been to share my journey with all of you. (I used to have to pay my children to look through my travel photos).imageNext trip will be a cruise from Bergen Norway to Barcelona, Spain.   If you would like, i’ll do a NormasFanFollow to Europe!

7 thoughts on “The Adventures of #NORMASFANFOLLOW in South America Part V

  1. What a wonderful edition to Norma’s Fan Follow! The photo’s are beautiful! I am singing On the Patton now. Aldolpha is lovely may I say. How amazing was it to see those Volcano’s before they erupted, did you throw something in there to cause that? Thanks for sharing, another wonderful read. I think an Alpaca would fit in nice with your Camel’s yes? XoXo

    Like

    1. I agree…no room in my suitcase for the
      Llama or the virgin I threw into the volcano!
      He was a little tainted before I sacrificed him, hence the eruption! I thank you for your continued support to CoH! Fondly, Norma D

      Like

  2. Post Script -Lord Astara just read this section of your blog and said “We could have written this story! Your friend took the same trip we did, saw the same sights, and made the same observations!” I, of course, pointed out the obvious and said “why did you think I wanted you to read it?” Need an eye roll emoji.

    Anyway, you made a dull Friday night very exciting. Thank you!

    Like

  3. Honest to God, or Heughan, you picked my happy place. Whenever I go to my happy place, like while they take my blood pressure, or I want to rip someone’s head off like right now, due to prednisone, this is where I go. My dd and dh climbed Osorno (funny how the damn thing follows you. We turned it into the Griswold European Vacation and repeatedly said “there’s Osorno kids”)

    The only time I enjoyed these pictures more was when I was there taking them. We even visited the German area and had fruitilla ice cream, aka strawberry. Everywhere we looked, we saw women who looked like my mother-in-law, first generation American from Germany. Same coloring as my dh and dd, what I call the cotton candy look. Made the same “jokes” about Hitler. Had pisco, Spanish for Whiskey Sour. You have to be careful with the way you say it as otherwise you’re just asking for a sour penis. Learned that lesson the, uhm, hard way. 😂😂😂

    #Outlander side note, I took one fiction book. Voyager. Happily finished it off, sitting at the base of Osorno, at the nicest hotel.

    I thoroughly enjoyed your trip Norma. So glad you did too!

    MWAH and love,
    Lady Astara

    Like

    1. Thank you? I am so glad you enjoyed it. Wish I would have had twitter to share my other trips. Isn’t it funny how I keep running into Sam? Your regard is important to me! Fondly, Norma D!

      Like

Leave a comment